Truro Speed Academy 2018

Registrations are now open for the 2018 Truro Speed Academy

Once again we will be offering support to new competitors to our speed events at Tregrehan and Portreath, and thanks to our friends at Camel Vale Motor Club and Newquay Auto Club you can also sample the different venues at Castle Hillclimb and Treloy Sprint.

Full details and the registration form can be found here.

Tregrehan Hill Climb Entry List

This weekend, 25th/26th June, is Truro and District Motor Clubs Tregrehan Speed Hill Climb. Tregrehan Speed Hill Climb is a round of the ASWMC Hill Climb Championship, the Cornish Speed Championship and is also the first round of the Truro Speed Academy. There are 64 cars entered to compete this weekend, as well as bikes from the National Hill Climb Association.

For more info see the Tregrehan Speed Hill Climb page.

For Truro Speed Academy entrants this will be their first time competing at a speed event. The Truro Speed Academy is run by TDMC to help new competitors begin competing in hill climb and sprint events, offering guidance from officials and experienced competitors as well as reduced entry fees for the academy events.

For more info regarding the Truro Speed Academy see the Truro Speed Academy page.



Tregrehan Entry List:

ClassSat / SunNum.ForenameSurnameCar
A1Road going series Production Cars up to 1400cc
Sat / Sun1MandySillifantPeugeot 106
Sat / Sun2RobCrookPeugeot 205XS
Sun3LesConnettSeat Arosa 16v Sport
A2Road going series Production Cars over 1400cc up to 1800cc
Sat10JonathonLannonCitroen Saxo VTS
Sat10ATonyLannonCitroen Saxo VTS
Sat / SunT11EimantasUlrikasMazda MX-5
Sat12MikeFordLotus Elise S1
Sun14MarekWojciechowskiHonda CRX
Sat / Sun15TedChalcraftToyota Celica
Sun16DavidEdwardsLotus Elise
Sat / Sun17TomMayhewToyota MR2 Mk1
Sun18DankolbergSuzuki Ignis Sport
Sun18APaulkolbergSuzuki Ignis Sport
Sat / Sun19JasonMettersMazda MX-5
Sat / Sun20SteveWattsPeugeot 106 GTI
Sat / Sun21NeilCatlingLotus Elise
Sat / Sun22JohnPennyPeugeot 106 GTI
A3Road going series Production Cars over 1800cc up to 2600cc
Sat / Sun28NigelHeardHonda Civic Type R
Sat / Sun29GaryPittFord Escort MK2
Sat / Sun30GeorgeKoopmanHonda Integra
Sat / Sun31NathanPriskAudi TT Quattro
Sat / Sun32AShellyMoncktonAudi TT 225
Sat / Sun32PaulDeaconAudi TT 225
Sat / Sun33DavidGarnerProton Satria
Sat / SunT34IanBrokenshireProton Satria GTI
Sat / Sun34ALiamBrokenshireProton Satria GTI
Sun35DavidMinersMitsubishi FTO
Sat / SunT36ArrianFirmanToyota Starlet
Sat / SunT36AVincentFirmanToyota Starlet
Sat / Sun37AnthonyWrightAudi A3
Sat / Sun38RichardSandersFord Escort MK2
Sun39MikePhillipsMazda MX-5
A4Road going series Production Cars over 2600cc
Sat / Sun45MichaelPotterSubaru Impreza WRX RA
Sun46DerekThomasMercedes C63 AMG
Sun47RichardBartonSubaru Impreza
Sun48MartynGloverMitsubishi Evo 4RS
B1Road going Specialist Production. Car engines up to 1400cc
B2Road going Specialist Production - Car engines over 1400cc up to 1800cc
Sat / Sun53GrahamSeearSylva Fury
Sun54NathanMitchellSylva Striker
B3Road going Specialist Production - Car engines over 1800cc & M/C engines
Sat / Sun58DerrickPrestonWestfield Sei
Sat / Sun59FrancisGillettWestfield Sports
Sat / SunT60MitchFoden-ClarkeWestfield Megabusa
Sat / Sun61IvanMeadRaw Striker
Sat / Sun62AndyCawseyWestfield SE
C1Modified Series Production cars up to 1400cc
Sat / Sun66JohnWhiteSuzuki Swift GTI
Sat / Sun67PeterWebsterMorris Cooper S
Sat / Sun68ChristopherCrockerAustin Mini
C2Modified Limited Series cars over 1400 cc up to 1800cc
Sat / Sun73GordonIlesVauxhall Tigra
Sat / Sun74RussellToutFord Fiesta
Sat / Sun74AGeraldToutFord Fiesta
Sat / Sun75TimRobertson-WellsRaw Striker
C3Modified Series Production Cars over 1800cc up to 2600cc
Sat / Sun81RoyBrayFord Escort Cosworth
Sat / Sun82AndrewTrenowethSeat Ibiza
Sun83JamesHealeVauxhal VX220
C4Modified Specialist Production Cars. Car engines and M/C engines
Sat / Sun88AndrewReadWestfield SEW
D1Sports Libre Cars up to 1800cc
D2Sports Libre Cars over 1800cc
Sat / Sun93BenMcEwenRenault 5
D3Rally Cars
E1Racing Cars up to 1100cc
Sat / Sun98PhilipPearnJedi Mk4
Sat99AlanBondStretta R6
E2Racing Cars over 1100cc up to 1600cc
Sat / Sun103MikeLeeOMS 2000M
Sat / Sun104KeithRichardsOMS Hornet
E3Racing Cars over 1600cc up to 2000cc
Sat / Sun107AndrewDinnerPilbeam MP82
Sat / Sun108RichardOpieRalt R3
Sat / Sun108AJohnBurtonRalt R3
VHistoric Cars pre 1974
Sat / Sun111JerryTraceElva Courier
Sat112ChristopherLittlerAustin A35

Tregrehan Hill Climb

The ASR’s and Entry form for the October 8th and 9th Tregrehan Hill Climb weekend are available for download. This weekend are the final rounds of the Bridge Tyres and Wheels Point S ASWMC Hill Climb Championship and The Cornish Speed Championship. Download the forms and find spectator information here.

Tregrehan Speed Hillclimb Academy 2015

2015 saw the second year of the Tregrehan Speed Hillclimb Academy. Following feedback from the first year competitors, and with the kind agreement of our friends at Camel Vale Motor Club and Newquay Auto Club, we were able to offer eight academy rounds. As well as the four rounds at Tregrehan in June and October, academy members were also able to compete at Castle in July and the Treloy Sprints in August and September at the same subsidised entry rate.

Once again before the first event in June, TDMC organised a mentoring session at Bradley Motors, Scorrier to discuss paperwork and car preparation, and hill walks at both Tregrehan and Castle. Unfortunately, due to access restrictions, Treloy could not be visited except on the actual event days. Our thanks to David Robertson-Wells, Mr and Mrs Hudson and South West Water for access to these venues.

The fifteen new speed competitors from the academy lined up with experienced hillclimbers in June. The mentors and Andrew Dinner were on hand to answer any queries and concerns, and such is the camaraderie amongst competitors, everyone competing made our academy members most welcome at their first event.

After the practice runs, everyone was able to improve on the times they set throughout the weekend. The Castle events were a tale of two contrasting days. The Saturday was fine throughout, but Sunday proved to be very wet and challenging for old and new competitors alike. Treloy also had its challenges, but everyone took them in their stride as their experience and confidence grew with each run taken.

LiamandDavidRichardOnce all the times were analysed, the best improver, and winner of the Treburley Garage Trophy 2015, was Liam Brokenshire. Our congratulations to Liam, and all the academy members, for making this year another very successful one. Photos by Dave Brenton of Liam receiving the championship award from David Richards and the 2015 academy group with David Richards outside The Alverton at our awards lunch. We look forward to welcoming a new group of competitors for 2016. More info on our website here:

report by Jeremy Thomas